Share this article

A total of 39 Cyber Mission Force (CMF) teams of the US Air Force (USAF) have attained full operational capability (FOC).

The teams comprise more than 1,700 airmen, civilians and contractors, and are expected to be sufficiently manned, trained and mission-ready.

Air Forces Cyber (AFCYBER) commander major general Chris Weggeman said: “We’ve reached an enormous military cyber milestone and we’re excited about what AFCYBER can deliver to our service and the joint cyber fight.

“Our teams are integral in performing and achieving the common-core mission of cyberspace superiority shared across all Department of Defense (DoD) services.”

The CMF, consisting of 133 teams, is the action arm of USAF Cyber Command (CYBERCOM) and is responsible for executing the command’s mission to direct, synchronise and coordinate cyberspace operations in the interest of the country.

“We will continue to evolve our cyber experts to combat the malicious cyber actors seeking to do us harm.”

The FOC completes the personnel and training aspects of the CMF build, which will allow the respective service commanders to focus on mission readiness.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData

Weggeman added: “This is the battlefield of today and our cyber forces are ready.

“The need for this CMF will remain long into the future, and we will continue to evolve our cyber experts to combat the malicious cyber actors seeking to do us harm.”

In 2013, the USAF started contributing to the development of the CMF, along with the 41 teams of the US Army, 40 teams of the US Navy, and 13 of the US Marine Corps (USMC).

The CMF will also include 15 Air National Guard squadrons and one Air Force Reserve squadron.