Share this article

Trials will begin the week commencing 10 August 2009 for the six fighter jets competing to win the estimated $12bn Indian jet fighter deal in Bangalore, India.

India plans to buy 126 multi-combat aircraft to replace its Soviet-era aircraft fleet.

The trials, opening with Boeing’s F-18 Superhornet jet, will continue for about a year in three phases before India selects a fighter.

Lockheed’s F-16 will follow the Superhornet, followed by EADS’ Eurofighter Typhoon aircraft and Russia’s MiG-35 and MiG-29.

Dassault’s Rafale aircraft and Saab’s Gripen fighter will be next in line to complete the trials.

The first phase will include tests in three climatic conditions – humid in Bangalore, hot in Jaisalmer and cold in Leh.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData

The second phase will include flight trials in Indian airspace and in the third phase the aircraft will undergo a series of tests to evaluate the weapon systems mounted on the fighters in home conditions.

India plans to acquire 18 of the aircraft in ready-to-fly conditions while the rest will be manufactured in India under transfer of technology.