Share this article

The Indian Air Force (IAF) is to receive 40 Tejas mkI aircraft, with two due to be induction-ready by March 2012, Indian Defence Minister AK Antony has said.

Press Trust of India quoted the defence minister as saying that out of the 40 aircraft ordered by the IAF, 20 were ordered under initial operational clearance standards, while the rest were requisitioned as per final operational clearance (FOC) standards.

“Initial operational clearance for light combat aircraft (LCA) Tejas was completed in December 2010. So far, 1,659 flight tests have been completed,” Antony added.

The IAF has earmarked a total of $1.3bn for the development of the indigenous LCA programme, he added.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData