BAE Systems has signed a $200m contract with GKN Aerospace, for the supply of composite and metallic structures for the multination joint strike fighter (JSF) programme.

Under the contract, GKN will perform fuselage work on all three variants of the F-35 Lightning II fighter, according to Defense News.

The contract will be the first major package of JSF work awarded to GKN’s UK facilities and will earn them around $2.5m for each aircraft.

GKN will manufacture the composite fuselage parts at its facility on the Isle of Wight, UK, and supply them to BAE.

The company will undertake the titanium metal structure machining work at its facilities in Filton and St Louis in the US.

Under the JSF programme, GKN has already supplied transparent canopies, titanium and composite structures for the airframe and engine, and an electro-thermal ice protection system for the powerplant.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

The JSF is a development and acquisition programme to replace a wide range of aging fighter, strike, and ground attack aircraft for the US and its allies.

The nine partner nations in the JSF programme include the US, the UK, Italy, the Netherlands, Turkey, Canada, Denmark, Norway and Australia.