An industrial consortium made up of FCMS, Indra and Thales has been selected to develop a suite of sensors for the European Future Combat Air System (FCAS).

Germany, Spain and France selected the consortium. The countries are the three main stakeholders of the Next Generation Weapon System (NGWS) / FCAS programme.

French Armament General Directorate (DGA) signed the contract with Indra on behalf of the three countries.

Sensors will be incorporated under the Phase 1 contractual framework. The Phase 1 A Concept Study for Sensors will be carried out over a span of one year, with an option to extend for another six months.

Work under the contract will involve ‘a connected and distributed architecture of sensors, the design of future sensors architectures and the maturation of the associated sensors technologies’.

The sensor architecture will use the capabilities of the NGWS/FCAS combat Cloud along with better system situational awareness and enhanced platforms survivability.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

The sensors pillar consortium will work with the other NGWS/FCAS pillars (Combat Cloud, Next Generation Fighter, Remote Carriers) to streamline the design and integration of the sensors.

Indra NGWS/FCAS programme director Manuel Rodríguez Cerezo said: “The industrial cooperation and the proactivity demonstrated by the three companies have facilitated the taking of this first step to move ahead with the programme.”

In February, Airbus and Thales partnered to develop the Air Combat Cloud for the FCAS.